Tuesday, October 12, 2010

Germany wins UN Security Council seat

Germany on Tuesday successfully secured a non-permanent seat on the UN Security Council.

Germany had been part of a three country battle with Portugal and Canada for two seats from a Western group of countries dominated by Europe.

Germany secured 128 votes in the first round, one more than the two-thirds majority required. Canada withdrew after an inconclusive second round, leaving victory to Portugal.

India, South Africa and Colombia all secured the two-year seats on the council in uncontested votes.

Five of the 15 nations on the Security Council are elected to two year terms each year. Britain, China, France, Russia and the United States are permanent members of the council who can veto any resolution.

The new countries will take the places of Japan, Austria, Turkey, Mexico and Uganda and give the Security Council a completely new political profile.

Germany, India and South Africa have all been pressing for a permanent role in a reformed Security Council. Brazil is also part of the campaign for change and it will go into a second year on the council as a non permanent member.

"We will discuss a reform of the UN, but not now, not today. It's necessary to change the structures to make the UN more effective," said German Foreign Minister Guido Westerwelle.

To read more: http://www.thelocal.de/politics/20101012-30443.html

Source photo: DPA / http://www.thelocal.de/politics/20101012-30443.html

No comments:

Post a Comment